Podcast advertising rates are the cornerstone of podcast sponsorships. In fact, the first question a podcast advertiser has is usually about podcast advertising rates: How are podcast ad costs determined? What does CPM stand for? Are dynamic podcast ads priced the same as traditional podcast sponsorships?
In this article, we will explain how podcast ad rates work with regard to pricing for podcast sponsorship costs.
For a complete overview of how podcast advertising works - from ad formats and campaign planning to measuring success - check out Podcast Advertising: The Ultimate Guide.
2025 Podcast Advertising Rates
Before we dig into how podcast ad pricing works, let’s take a quick look at how the landscape has evolved in 2025.
Updated CPM Benchmarks and Trends
Mid-roll host-read podcast ads now average in cost between $15 and $30 CPM, according to the latest data. This is a modest increase from the $15 to $25 CPM range previously seen with niche or emerging shows. While smaller podcasts still sit at the lower end, genres like business, health and wellness, and true crime continue to command higher rates due to strong listener loyalty and advertiser demand.
Pre-roll ads remain stable at $18 to $25 CPM, while post-roll placements are still the most budget-friendly, typically ranging from $10 to $20 CPM.
CPMs May Vary
A standout trend this year is the growth of podcast integrations with platforms like YouTube. YouTube sponsorship rates have some overlap with how podcasts are priced, but short-form content (with only one sponsor) is priced differently. These campaigns can sometimes exceed $40 CPMs for US audiences, particularly when paired with high production quality, host-led storytelling, and visual brand integration.
Long form simulcasts, which are podcasts that also have a video version on YouTube, tend to be more priced more in line with standard podcast ads.
On the other end of the spectrum, programmatic audio for non host read ads can be a cost-efficient supplement with CPMs ranging from $5 to $15 depending on whether it's a run of network campaign or targeted ads.
For brands aiming to reach audiences across multiple touchpoints, these formats offer compelling ROI and a mix of broader reach. With 2025 benchmarks in mind, let’s explore how podcast advertising rates are set, what CPM really means, and the factors that influence your total cost.
How Podcast Advertising Rates Work
Podcast advertising is sold on a CPM basis, which means it’s sold by the thousands. CPM stands for “cost per mille.” (Mille means “thousand” in Latin.)
If a podcast’s CPM is $25, that means you pay $25 for every thousand listens an episode receives. (A unique download or stream counts as a “listen.”)
For example: X-Pod has 10,000 listens per episode.
Divide by 1000, then multiply the 10 by the $25 CPM. The total works out to a $250 on a cost per episode basis.
The Podcast Advertising CPM Calculator
To price a podcast sponsorship opportunity, do the math and try ADOPTER Media’s CPM Calculator!
Enter your values and click “Calculate”
Other Factors That Impact Podcast CPMs
Most podcasts charge a flat rate for "episodic" ad placements, rather than a varying cost based on the exact number of downloads, streams, or impressions that the episode delivers.
Podcast advertising rates are often based on the consistent average downloads/streams that each episode gets within its first 30 to 90 days. (That seems like a wide range, but it’s not. Most podcasts hit over 90% of their downloads in the first week of release.)
In the case of the above example, X-Pod charges $250 for each episode you advertise on and they’re sure it will get at least 10,000 listens (based on its consistent listening audience).
If the episode delivers more than 10,000 listens, the sponsor gets those added impressions a bonus. For instance, an episode’s listens can overdeliver significantly if the podcast books a big name guest. This means more exposure for the podcast advertiser at no additional cost.
(It's also why episodic buys are the best deal, especially if it's a podcast that simulcasts across audio and YouTube. Annual deals or "upfronts" also pay off as the year goes on and a podcast audience grows.)
How Dynamic Podcast Advertising Rates Work
Dynamic or “inserted” podcast ads can be a viable alternative to the usual style. With this impression-based method of serving ads, your spots are inserted into the podcast when downloaded or streamed. The dynamic element allows podcast ads to refresh over time, be geo-targeted by region, or even spread across entire podcast networks for "run of network" (RON) campaigns.
The audio is seamless to listeners - and you often can’t even tell it was inserted after the fact with host-read ads. If it’s not host-read, it’s the podcast equivalent of hearing an ad on the radio. (Podcast ads have evolved, and there are now a variety of offerings.)
Different Delivery, Same Pricing Formula
Dynamic podcast advertising rates also use a CPM to determine the cost to the sponsor. However, in this case you are paying for total listens and not per episode.
The benefits of these ads are that you can increase your exposure beyond a podcast’s new episodes. In many cases, you can insert new ads onto old episodes or across an entire network (just make sure you have an impression cap, so listeners don't hear your ads to the point it's annoying).
Using the example from above, X-Pod has 10,000 listens per episode. Let’s say its entire catalog receives 50,000 listens in a month. With dynamic advertising, you can run your podcast ads across all of them. At a $25 CPM it would cost $1,250 to sponsor the month and you'll be charged on the exact number of audio impressions served, up to that amount budgeted.
This way, each listener hears your company’s ad regardless of which episode of X-Pod they listen to during that time.
Going Granular with Programmatic Podcast Ads
Programmatic podcast ads offer a way to target audio ads at particular demographics, across specific content, or localized to defined markets. Depending on the location, demographics, content, and demand, prices may vary. Broader targets tend to cost less, niche audiences tend to cost more. As podcasting continues to grow, there are issues of scale when it comes to small markets or sponsoring individual, smaller podcasts. It's important to note, however, that these ads are rarely voiced by the podcast host. More often than not, programmatic podcast ads and streaming audio advertising resemble radio-style ad formats. As it currently stands, location-targeted podcast advertising makes sense wherever you can achieve a reasonable ad frequency.
There Is No “Industry Standard” CPM for Podcast Ads
The podcast industry has no "industry standard" CPM. Podcast advertising rates vary with each podcast, and so do the advertising formats offered.
Some podcasts offer prerolls or “top of show” ads. Others offer midroll or “mid-show” ads. A few offer postroll of “end of show” ads.
Podcasts either sell each type at a separate CPM rate, or a combination ad placements for a single CPM. Podcast hosts deliver ads in most cases, though dynamic insertion has introduced more radio-style spots.
Demand Dictates Pricing
Depending on the podcast audience and ad format, you can expect to pay anywhere from a $10 to $50 CPM. Advertiser demand and the quality of audience dictates the exact amount charged and the podcast advertising cost.
For instance, a podcast covering true crime can have a very large audience with broad interests and a wide demographic. On the contrary, a podcast focused on software engineering has a narrower focus and much smaller audience. However, the engineering podcast’s listeners earn more on average. Not only that, but they’re also looking to make both personal and business purchases. Similarly, a biohacking podcast's audience is more likely to be receptive to nutritional supplements or health-related advertisers, so they can charge a premium price.
The total cost of sponsoring different podcasts might work out the same, but the more attractive audience depends on what your brand or business is looking to advertise.
But Wait, There's More ...
We’ve covered how CPM works and the factors that impact it—but there’s another number worth knowing: ECPM, or Effective Cost Per Mille
What is ECPM?
ECPM shows the actual cost per thousand impressions once you factor in overdelivery. For example, if you buy an ad for 50,000 downloads at a $20 CPM, you’re paying $1,000 for that placement. That’s your CPM on paper. But if that episode overdelivers and pulls in 100,000 downloads, you still only paid $1,000—but now your effective CPM is $10, not $20, because you got twice the audience for the same price.
While you won’t see that kind of overdelivery on every podcast you sponsor, some podcasts—especially those with high-profile guests or timely, news-driven content—often outperform expectations. Over the course of a year, across multiple placements, these overages can add up. In fact, it’s entirely possible for your ECPM to end up being half of what you planned for—meaning more reach, more impressions, and more value from the same budget.
Each campaign is unique, and podcast advertising budgets vary per sponsor--many also fluctuate based on the time of year. Our podcast advertising agency can get you the best podcast advertising rates to reach your target audience.
For more information, contact ADOPTER Media to start the conversation.
And if you have any questions or suggestions for future articles, please do get in touch!
Glenn Rubenstein
Glenn Rubenstein is the Founder and CEO of ADOPTER Media. Since 2007, he's helped brands engage online audiences through authentic advertising.